Skip to content

Hit the love button if you love this info!

http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/TheWritePractice/~3/KIOw7AZ_VP4/

As writers, we know reading is a fundamental part of our practice. We’re encouraged to expose ourselves to new writers, texts, words, and ideas. But do you ever find yourself reading something and wondering, “What am I looking for? How can I learn from this writer?”

How to Find the Best Fiction Writing Exercises in Your Favorite Novel

Writing practice is at the heart of everything we do here at The Write Practice. Every week, we share new fifteen-minute fiction writing exercises to help you practice and grow as a writer.

But what if you could build your own fiction writing exercises? What if you could find something you love in a story someone else has written, and then practice how to recreate that yourself? What if you could take the lead in your own growth as a writer and learn from your favorite stories and authors?

You can! Here are three steps to help you analyze any text to learn its secrets and apply its lessons. 

First, Choose a Book to Study

Developing writers often love to read, but they don’t know how to move beyond the reader experience of a text to analyze how a writer is creating an effect. 

Not every text begs analysis, of course. When I’m after a quick pleasure read at the beach or a fast-paced thriller to help me escape the mundane, I don’t want to slow down to unpack a writer’s method. 

But when I am trying to get better as a writer, I need to choose some texts that can teach me. Depending on your goals, you might choose a writer you admire, a reader-favorite in a genre, or a classic novel.  I think it helps if you’ve read the text through at least once, so you aren’t trying to grasp the basic premise of the scene or section.

3 Steps to Learn From a Book

Once you’ve chosen a text, try these three steps to help you learn a text’s secrets and apply them to your own writing with fiction writing exercises. 

1. Describe what you see

First, narrow your focus. If you want to get better at dialogue, choose a dialogue-heavy scene. If you want to improve your ability to write suspense, choose a chapter or scene that had you captivated until the end. 

Read the scene or chapter slowly, pencil in hand. You can record your notes in the margins or in a notebook. Read a paragraph, section, or page and then stop and describe what you see related to your area of focus.

For example, in a fast-paced scene, do you notice how the dialogue is clipped? Are the sentences short? 

See if you can describe the various parts of the scene. What are the characters doing before and after they speak? When does the scene begin? Where does it end? 

2. Ask why and how questions

Once you have a good list describing what you noticed, ask why and how.

If you noticed the dialogue sentences are clipped and short, even fragments in places, ask yourself why, My guess is that those short sentences speed the pace to keep the reader engaged. But maybe they reflect how the character speaks differently under pressure, revealing insecurity. 

There are no wrong answers—only defensible ones. Try to come up with multiple reasons for how a writer is creating the effect or why they are crafting a scene this way. 

Also, here’s a shortcut for this step: ask yourself what the story’s genre is.

Genre dictates a number of choices for writers. A thriller will almost always have someone racing against a literal or metaphorical clock. A mystery will have a dead body or puzzle, usually in the first quarter of the book.

Notice the patterns you see related to the genre and ask yourself how they propel the story forward.  

3. Apply the lesson

Now that you have a good list of description and some great questions or observations about how and why a scene is developed, it’s your turn. Choose one of the sections you analyzed. It might be a paragraph, a page, or a scene. 

Practice recreating the effect in your own style and voice. You can create a character composite or swap in a character from your work in progress. If your analysis revealed short, clipped dialogue, write short sentences. If your analysis showed a clever technique for character description, try it out using your own details. 

There’s no wrong way to do it. All developing writers mimic the greats as they find their own voices. Don’t be afraid to learn from authors you love, using their work as a model. 

Practice Is Key

It’s one thing to read books you love. It’s another thing entirely to write books you love, books that can hold their own on the shelf next to your favorite authors.

But if you study your favorite books and create fiction writing exercises to practice the techniques they use to capture your imagination, you can recreate those experiences for yourself. Better yet, you can build on them to create something new and innovative, something readers can’t put down.

Pull a book off your shelf, study it, and create a way to practice what that author’s done. How will their skill weave its way into your writing?

Have you used a similar process to learn from other authors? What helps you learn from the books you read? Share your ideas in the comments

PRACTICE

Set the timer for fifteen minutes. Choose a paragraph or short section of a book or story you love (you could even choose a short exchange on a tv show or film!). Not sure what to pick? Read the first chapter of Pride and Prejudice here.

Then, describe what you see as you read or view it. Ask and answer those how and why questions:

  • What makes it work?
  • Why does the author choose these details?
  • How did she speed up or slow down the pace here? 

If there’s any time left on your timer, try writing something in a similar style or using the same techniques. 

It may feel clunky or uncomfortable at first, but play with it and have fun. Share the story you chose and the observations you made (and your own application of the technique, if you have time to write!) in the comments below.

Be sure to leave feedback for your fellow writers! In fact, why not try practicing one of the techniques they share?

The post How to Find the Best Fiction Writing Exercises in Your Favorite Novel appeared first on The Write Practice.

Published inWriting

39 Comments

  1. where to buy cialis cheap where to buy cialis cheap

    Canadian Online Pharmacy

  2. order proscar for hair loss order proscar for hair loss

    Viagra Prix Suisse En Bourges

  3. Stromectol Stromectol

    Worldwide Cod Hydrochlorothiazide In Internet Mastercard

  4. acavell acavell
  5. Lasix Lasix

    Viagra On Line Senza Ricetta

  6. where is thw cheepesr place to buy plaquenil where is thw cheepesr place to buy plaquenil

    Propecia On Sale

  7. priligy premature ejaculation pills priligy premature ejaculation pills

    Fedex Zentel Albex Secure With Free Shipping Winston

  8. Prednisone Prednisone

    how fast does cialis work

  9. Viagra Viagra

    Tab generic isotretinoin website cod accepted

  10. buying viagra with no prescription buying viagra with no prescription

    Commande Cialis En France

  11. cialis buy online cialis buy online

    Kamagra Comprar Ajanta Pharma

  12. buy propecia 1 mg online safely buy propecia 1 mg online safely

    Free Shipping Legally Zentel Discount Cheap

  13. prednisone dosing prednisone dosing

    Priligy Prescrizione Medica

  14. Stromectol Stromectol

    Imitation Cialis 800 Number

  15. Priligy Priligy

    Propecia Hair Growth 5 Alpha Reductase Inhibitors

  16. Reinly Reinly

    The casino gives you a One Casino no deposit bonus in NZ because they want to welcome you as a new player. With the NZ$20 free bonus they try to convince you to join their casino and not another New Zealand online casino. We think this is a very good way to attract new players to One Casino because it is a 100% free bonus. And with the money you have a free chance to try a few games before you transfer money to the casino. You can test games and see if you like One Casino before you start playing with your own money. Sometimes, there may be an instruction on the offer telling you where to claim your code. The casino may give you a link to click on that will redirect you to a page where the code can be found. Or, the casino may instruct you to search for your code on your email address. This happens after the casino notices that you’ve been looking it up, so in order to entice you to join, it sends you a code to claim a No Deposit Bonus with it. Finally, when the casino notices you’re eyeing it, the Customer Support might offer you a code via Live Chat to attract your attention and make you consider it as a casino to join. https://speedy-wiki.win/index.php/$1_deposit_casinos This is called collusion, and it is the one area where cheating in online poker is a moderate concern. Online poker sites take collusion very seriously. Sites such as PokerStars.com have several security methods to prevent collusion. One of these methods is a charting system, where they log how many hands you’ve played with the same opponents. It sounds like every future hacks won’t necessarily be covered universally, as Crypto.com did in Monday’s hack. There are a variety of crypto wallets to choose from, so it’s important that you opt for a reliable product. The first thing to note is that you should choose a service that offers two-factor authentication. By opting for two-factor authentication, you’re making it much harder for hackers to get into your account. Since a lot of users still don’t use two-factor authentication, the hackers usually opt to not even try to hack accounts with this enabled, simply because there’s accounts out there that require a lot less effort to hack.

  17. ms-marvelgezru ms-marvelgezru

    Мисс Марвел 1 сезон. Ms. Marvel. Мисс Марвел смотреть онлайн 1,2,3,4,5,6 серия Сериал: Мисс Марвел Мисс Марвел (мини–сериал 2022). Ms. Marvel.

  18. hiess hiess

    Sama pätee halutessasi poistaa jo olemassa olevat, laitteellesi tallennetut evästeet. Muista, että sinun tulee säätää asetukset erikseen jokaiselle käyttämällesi selaimelle. Sama pätee halutessasi poistaa jo olemassa olevat, laitteellesi tallennetut evästeet. Muista, että sinun tulee säätää asetukset erikseen jokaiselle käyttämällesi selaimelle. Järjestämme säännöllisesti kilpailuja, joissa voit voittaa niin ilmaiskierroksia kuin upeita palkintoja – pelissä keräämiesi voittojen lisäksi tietysti. Ja kuka tietää kenen kohdalle se isoin jättipotti osuu: Esimerkiksi Pafin vuonna 2016 lanseeraamassa Cash & Carry Shopping Spreessä jättipotti jaettiin sen kahden ensimmäisen vuoden aikana uskomattomat 26 kertaa! Tämä sivusto käyttää 3:a evästetyyppiä: välttämättömät-, seuranta- ja markkinointievästeet. https://hotwife-stories.com/community/profile/daciabraden6763/ Oli käytössä sitten selainpohjainen vaihtoehto tai applikaatio, molemmat ovat yhtä turvallisia käyttää. Kyse on lopulta vain makuasiasta. Jotkut haluavat käyttää applikaatioversiota ja joillekin sillä ei ole niin väliä. Ilmainen peliraha on tietenkin täysin vastakohta, eli saat bonusrahaa täysin ilmaiseksi ilman omaa taloudellista panostasi. Toisin sanoen ilmainen peliraha on aina täysin riskitön vaihtoehto pelata kasinolla, sillä sinulla ei ole vaaraa menettää omia rahojasi pelaamisen yhteydessä. Ilmainen peliraha ilman talletusta on kasinoiden sisäänheittotuote, jonka avulla voit tutustua sivuston tarjontaan. Ilmainen peliraha ilman talletusta on kasinoiden sisäänheittotuote, jonka avulla voit tutustua sivuston tarjontaan.

  19. hiess hiess

    Mitä tahansa urheiluvetoja asettaessa mielessä on myös hyvä pitää vastuullisen pelaamisen periaatteet. Positiivinen tapa pelata ja hyvä pelikassan hallinta kantavat pidemmälle kuin mikään muu pelivinkki. Mr Green tarjoaa suomalaisille pelaajille erinomaisen paikan, jossa intohimon vedonlyöntiä kohtaan voi päästää valloilleen. Kertoimemme ovat markkinoiden huippua ja jännitys taattua. Seuraa tuhansien tyytyväisten suomalaispelaajien jalanjälkiä, ota tervetuliaisbonus vastaan ja luo tili Mr Greenille! Jokainen sivustoltamme löytyvä kolikkopeli, pöytäpeli, livekasinopeli ja nettiarpa ovat pelattavissa yhtä lailla ilman perinteistä rekisteröitymistä kuin sen kanssa. Kaikki pelaajat ovat siis tasa-arvoisessa asemassa. Voit voittaa jopa progressiivisen megajackpotin ilman rekisteröitymistä ja nostaa voittorahat pankkitilillesi alta aikayksikön! https://www.goldenretrievers.es/foro/profile/jacki2294544074/ Kaikki uudet kasinot netissä joutuvat hakemaan lisenssiä, eivätkä ne saa tarjota rahapelejä ennen kuin lisenssi on myönnetty. Kasino-operaattorin on täytettävä kaikki lisenssiehdot, ja myös pelit täytyy testata teknisellä tasolla ennen sivuston julkaisua. Löydä täältä parhaat nettikasinot ilman rekisteröitymistä. Pelaa ilman tiliä ja kotiuta voitot ennätysvauhtia, supernopeaa ja helppoa! Valitse kasino ilman rekisteröitymistä kun haluat että pelaaminen on yksinkertaista, nopeaa ja turvallista. Unohda pitkät rekisteröitymisprosessit ja lähde pelaamaan heti. Löydä alta kasinot ilman rekisteröitymistä. Toisaalta niillä voidaan myös viitata potentiaalisesti piankin edessä olevaan tilanteeseen, jossa Suomeenkin luodaan oma lisenssijärjestelmä, ja tällöin merkitys on tosiaan toisenlainen. Kun mainitsemme suomalaiset kasinot ilman lisenssiä, puhumme toistaiseksi ulkomailla päämajaansa pitävistä, laillisista kasinoista.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.